Spring Bike Ride in Shangrao

IMG_5314 IMG_5315 IMG_5316 IMG_5317 IMG_5319 IMG_5320 IMG_5321

I went for a three hour bike ride today. It was a great spring day. Sadly, I forgot to change the battery in my camera. So, the pictures were limited. The little two story stone structure is over 800 years old I think. It looks to be either a fire alter type thing or a smoke warning structure. You build a fire inside and there are smoke vents at the top. With this being on top of a hill along the river, I could see it being used for either situations.

The old building picture I took is a picture of what the house once looked like in the older days of Shangrao. It is either being remodeled or being prepared for demolition. Most of the hoses like this have been destroyed to make way for the high rise apartment complexes or new individual houses. It is sad to me. I love the old architecture of China. But, they are being torn down to make way for “modern” China. Even in this condition, it look very beautiful to me.

I hope that the bicycle will help me lose the tummy bulge from the winter hibernation. I just can’t seem to get to my goal weight of 100 kg (220 pounds). I will just keep trying.

Leave a Reply

