Talent Show in Jishan

IMG_5192 IMG_5191 IMG_5190

I forgot to tell you about the talent show I was invited to go see from one of my camp students. She played a flute type instrument in the show. If I get a chance, I will try to upload some videos of the performance later.

The picture above is from the public square in front of the convention hall where the show was being held. I have seen these in numerous places. But, it is the first time I have seen the circular cars. There are bumper cars you can use. But, there is no fenced area. You walk at your peril.

IMG_5193 IMG_5195

The girl in the picture is my student. And, the boy is the kids that kept wanting to teach me the Chinese word for apple…over and over and over. He was a darling though. And, he was fun.

The show was supposed to begin at 7:00. It began at 8:00. This is the best example of China time. So, I am waiting for the performance to begin. I am the only foreigner that has ever visited this town I think. And people begin to come up to me and ask if they can take pictures with me. If they knew how to form lines in China, I am sure I would have had one. But, everyone patiently waited their turn and then approached me. It was fun for me. I played it off well.

IMG_5199 IMG_5201 IMG_5206 IMG_5209 IMG_5215 IMG_5217 IMG_5230 IMG_5232

The show was full of primary, middle school and high school kids.  Think of sitting through a child’s dance or music recital. That is what this was like. But, there were some good things to see. And, some cultural things that was interesting. So, it was not as bad as I make it seem. But, the performances were far from professional. They had some kids trying to break dance. They are either very new, or they are just very bad. Break dancing requires a certain “in your face” personality that most Chinese can never master. They had three boys playing drums for part of the show. I kept waiting for them to break out into a drum solo of sorts. But, they just kept playing in time with the loud speaker music. Nothing spectacular. The costumes were fun to see. And, the flute playing from my student and her classmates was actually pretty good. Her brother was playing the Chinese stringed instrument. I do not know what it is called. But, I like the sound it makes. And, he and his classmates put on a good show. The little girls dancing to pop music and trying to be little sexual divas always turns me off. A 5, 6, 7, 8 year old should not be trying to dance like a trampy Miley Cyrus.

It was a nice show though. And, it was a nice break from having to sit in my hotel room all night long with nothing to do.

Leave a Reply

