Pictures from Xuzhou Trip

Ribs and Beer

This is not in Xuzhou. It is in Ganyu. One of my favorite meals is ribs and beer at this restaurant. The best ribs I have had. A sweet sauce, meaty pork, that falls from the bone.

IMG_3221

I am not sure when Obama said this for Chinese people. But, it is a slogan here. This is hanging at the entrance of the training school I was at. When I asked what Obama meant by this, no one had a clue. But, they seem to like it. Anyone “Got Milk?”

IMG_3219 IMG_3218 IMG_3217 IMG_3216 IMG_3215 IMG_3214

We took the kids of the school shopping at a local grocery store “Carrefour”. We were teaching them food words and how to go shopping, pay for things, and other valuable life skills. Nothing how all the food is unwrapped in the meat section and open to everyone. And, they have a seafood section with live fish. Also notice what else you can buy…bullfrogs. There are also live turtle eels, and clams. Don’t ask me what most of the “mystery” meat is on display.

IMG_3212 IMG_3211 IMG_3210

I never seem to learn my lesson here. ALWAYS…ALWAYS…ALWAYS take your camera with you. Twice, I saw a young boy around 10-12 years old begging on the street. He can not walk. I stopped both times and spoke a few words to him. Although he is dirty from head to foot, he had a smile that was heavenly. He did not understand me. But, he was delighted for me to stop and pat his head, touch his shoulder and back with a pat, and give some attention. The second time I saw him was on my way to dinner. I said hello to him in passing and he smiled very big to me and said hello. On the way back, I got two ice cream cones from McDonalds and found him still sitting in the middle of the sidewalk begging. I did what few Chinese would ever think of doing. I gave him one of the cones and I sat down with him on the sidewalk. We just smiled at each other. I tried to talk with him the best I could. And, we spent about 5 minutes together. I do not know his story. But, I do know his mother is not with him here. She is in another city and province. I do not know who cares for him.  I soon realized that I was taking his chance for money from him. No one was giving him any as I was there. So, I said goodbye and said a prayer to God to watch and protect over him as I walked away.

This brings me to the picture presented. This man is also crippled. He uses a flat rolling board to move around. You can not tell by the picture, but he has a bad hum in his back and is deformed there. He draws on the sidewalk various Chinese characters. I am not sure what they say. They are drawn quickly. But, they looked beautiful to me. I stopped and talked with him too.

 

 

IMG_3209 IMG_3208 IMG_3207 IMG_3202 IMG_3201 IMG_3200 IMG_3192 IMG_3194 IMG_3189 IMG_3188 IMG_3187 IMG_3175 IMG_3173

We had a great time with the kids. Three times, with different age groups. While the teachers and the foreign teacher played games with them, I just mingled with the kids and played with them. It was a lot of fun. And, there is one picture missing because I did not want to appear rude. I saw a young lady laying on a stretcher like wheelchair covered in blankets on a warm day. She could not move her body and she has a trachea in her throat. I went o ver to her and kneeled next to her. I introduced myself to her. Her English was very poor. But, she loved to smile and look at me. I talked to her, even though she did not understand much. We enjoyed each other’s company. Now, you may be thinking that the town is filled with beggars and handicapped. NO. God just brought them into my presence so I can visit with them.

IMG_3203 IMG_3206

This little guy was a real challenge for me. He was so shy around me. He would cling to his mother. But, as with 99% of the time, I won him over and we had a great time playing. I just noticed in the larger image of the picture, the crotchless, naked children are back with the warmer weather. Ha Ha.

IMG_3195

I saw a Chinese man ride this. I see motorcycles here in China. But, this is the first time I have seen one this nice. I did not think they existed here.

IMG_3182 IMG_3183 IMG_3185

Ah, spring is here. The trees and flowers are blooming. As are some people’s hair. Pretty blue hair.

IMG_3165

My friend Mr Zhang and his grandson. Zhang is the new headmaster of the training school I was doing the seminar for. Zhang asked me to come and teach the seminar to his teachers.

IMG_3180 IMG_3177

Amazing what people can do with a sponge on the end of a stick. They were writing Chinese characters on the sidewalk in water.

IMG_3168

This is a staff meeting for KTV workers. I have seen this several times. The boss will have the staff out in the open. The staff have to stand in formation and very military like. The boss then has the meeting in view of the public for marketing purposes I think.

IMG_3169

This is a picture I see all over China. They design and build these large water ponds and put all kinds of fountain jets in them. The bad thing is…they are never operational…even in the summer. I have yet to see one that is working. I am not sure when they turn them on. Shame too. They look very interesting to me with all the water jets available.

IMG_3161 IMG_3163 IMG_3159 IMG_3160

My first morning in Xuzhou. My hotel is along this river. Notice the Chinese house boat.

IMG_3223 IMG_3225

At night, there are LED lights on the bridges and along the banks of the river. Very pretty.  Chinese love using LED lighting on buildings and other structures at night. I does make a difference in how a city looks at night. It is very beautiful. And, they are not stationary LEDs. They are moving. Some make like a waterfall effect on buildings. Others do other designs. They even put LED rod-like lighting in trees. Wonderful.

That is all the pictures I have for you now. I hope you enjoyed them.